MTC Week #1

Wowza. 

 
I can’t believe that I have been in the MTC for an entire week! There is a common saying here that the days feel like weeks and the weeks feel like days. and wow is it true. I feel like I learn enough in each day to equate to about a week if not more of maybe a highschool + language class! I am already learning so much Albanian- I have already taught 3 lessons in straight up all albanian for about 30 mins- it was crazy awesome the gift of tongues is real, and I absolutely love my district! there are 8 people in our albanian district, and I already love all of them dearly! WE are the absolute best district. My wonderful companion is named Sister Zollinger and she is a gem – such a strong testimony. We get along swimmingly, and we have quite a few things in common and think very similarly to the point that we are often thinking the same thing and we will blurt out the exact same thing at the same time! It is brilliant.
 
I love the mtc; I REALLY didn’t think that I would like it as much as I have. We have a room to ourselves which is unheard of usually but there aren’t too many missionaries here right now, apparently that will change in a few weeks though… supposedly. 
 
Ok. I had an absolutely life changing experience with a devotional video that we got to watch on sunday evening. It is Elder Bednar’s talk called : the Character of Christ. I had been recommended it before by Elder Osborn, or Christopher… and I had looked it up and listened to it, but the one they have in the mtc is much longer and far more precious. It is about an hour and a half long, and it was a recording of a special devotional that he gave for missionaries on Christmas Sunday, and it is literally life changing. It talks a lot about how our “natural man” tends to want to “turn in” when bad things happen, that we “turn in” and act selfishly… and this happens very often. However he said that the way to be the very best missionary you possibly can be is to “turn out” and be like Christ when you would otherwise desire to turn in. Christ like attributes are the way to find true happiness in this life, and I believe that this will be a quintessential factor in my missionary purpose and drive. I am now studying the attributes of Christ very closely in attempts to be the very best missionary I can be. Because I know that I can only do this amazing missionary work if I strive to be more like Him and to radiate Christ-like attributes. Through Him I can do this. 
 
I don’t know if you can look up the missionary edition of this talk, but if you can I encourage all of you who have not already read it to find a copy or even listen to the normal talk that I know is online。
 
So go and read it if you can。 I would encourage all of you to search the scriptures and obtain a copy of PMG and try to study the qualities and attributes of Christ。 
 
sorry that the font is all weird now
 
We were also privileged to have Elder Christopherson come and give a devotional to us on Tuesday and he did an amazing job。He said something that really struck me。He said be the kind of man or woman that God can one day say:That’s a (wo)man after my own heart。。。like with saul(paul)。 I want to have that be me。 I want my heavenly father to be proud of me and I pray everyday that Ican. 
Each time I am studying or working on my albanian or preparing something,  I have the thought of my future investigators in mind. It is a little hard to focus on others while we are here at the MTC but what I do now, I do with my future Albanian investigators in mind. I can hardly wait to get over there and start sharing the wonderful message of the gospel with the people of Albania, who desperately need it. I love the MTC and I love all of you dearly. Thank you for all of your support and love! I hope you are all doing well!
Motra Kollmen (Sister Coleman) 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

