Let it begin… 2015

Hello cute family and friends!

Not quite sure what to talk about today.. This week has been wonderful! And I feel like I just had a Pday… on new years day…. Speaking of which, new years here is CRAZY! We had to be inside at 4 pm. because people like to set off fire crackers and fireworks… and throw them at missionaries! So we got in at sunset(yes sunset is at 4 here, crazy) and me and my baby trainee Sister Fuller, talked and chatted about life and studied. SHE IS AMAZING. I am excited to be working with her, and it really is very humbling to be a trainer. I am responsible for inspiring this girl, and seeing that she just has a fantastic first 3 months of her mission! Pressure. But she honestly couldn’t be in a more fantastic area to start her mission. I just pray that I can motivate her, and help her start her mission off right! Start the fire now! And she really is fantastic, she has a love for the people and a willingness to work hard! I can work with that! So I am very grateful for her and for everything that we will be doing together, miracles are coming this way, miracles are already here! Then we went to bed on new years night, then we were woken up by the fireworks, wow, they are huge here! SO MANY. and from our 8th story apartment, we had a spectacular view! Tirana loves new years. It might have sounded and mildly looked like a war was going on, and I definitely got a wonderful video of it for all of you to see one day πŸ™‚ it was glorious.
It is kind of like walking down memory road having a trainee. I see her struggling with the language, adapting to this foreign culture.. and it just makes me think of how far I have come since I got in country. Or even since I started my mission. It is interesting… time on a mission is a bizarre thing… so slow some days… but looking back on it all it is passing far too quickly. It scares me. Because sometimes though now I understand what I am doing a bit more, and I comprehend and can speak the language… sometimes I still feel quite new. But now I am a “mom” if you will, I am helping Shepard in another missionary. I’ve been thinking a lot about how much I have changed since being out here this week. And it sincerely is humbling to be a trainer, to see how far I have come… but also to see how much farther I have to go, how much more I need to improve. But it is truly an amazing experience, to see how much more I am depending on the spirit and praying to my Father in Heaven now in each prayer… I definitely was before, but now since I am the one essentially teaching the majority of the lessons, at least this first half week together, I have to rely on the spirit a lot, having a constant prayer in my heart that the words that come out of my mouth will hit their hearts. The gift of tongues is a real thing.Β  It has been amazing to see how present I feel the spirit, and how visible the hand of the Lord is in our lives and in our lessons. It is powerful and amazing.
As far as other things go…. today we found some Mexican food, and a climbing gym! the only one in Albania.. as far as I know, and our mission president approved it! So we spend part of today bouldering, and it made my soul very happy πŸ™‚ I miss climbing on rocks πŸ™‚
Hope you are all doing well! Love you all!
-Motra Kollmen
Love these girls :)

Love these girls πŸ™‚

IMG_2159 IMG_2162

Me and my crazy companion this morning, just doing some morning yoga.... ninja styling it.

Me and my crazy companion this morning, just doing some morning yoga…. ninja styling it.

Leave a Reply

