The Mustard Seed

Well I don’t have much time to write today, we had planned to come and do email earlier, but we were learning how to make byrek and it took a lot longer than expected, but good news is that now I am a pro byrek maker! byrek is a glorious pie like pastry thing with either tomato and onion, or cheese, or spinach.. the last being the best 🙂 and so I mastered that today!

But this was such a great week! Greis was baptized~ and you should all know that it was a miracle that she got baptized. It has been a struggle for months with previous missionaries working with her to keep commitments and to work with her difficult father… but in the time we have been here I have never seen a person change so much and grow so much in their faith. Her reading is extraordinary now, and the light in her eyes is impossible to miss. She is one of the elect, and she just needed a strong invitation to change for herself.. and she has. I am impressed with her, and grateful to have been here to witness this change of character. She went from not really reading for herself but more for her parents, to reading for herself more than we ask of her, and asking for her assignments and sharing her favorite ones with us! I am a firm believer in small and simple things making the difference, and I know that through diligent following up with Greisi it really made a difference. Something fun with her baptism which I have never experienced thus far on my mission, is that as soon as she came out of the water her father and mother started clapping and then the whole big crown was cheering. And she was laughing and just beaming. It was one of the happiest moments of my life 🙂 I love that girl. And all the young women were just so excited to see another girl enter their ranks! #youngwomenbuilding I love the young women with all my heart!
So a fun thing I was reading in Jesus the Christ today was in connection with the grain of faith like that of a mustard seed, and it says that : “the seed is a living entity. when rightly planted it absorbs and assimilates the nutritive matters of soil and atmosphere, grown, and in time is capable of affording lodgement and food to the birds. So the seed of truth is vital, living, and capable of such development as to furnish spiritual food and shelter to all who come seeking. In both conceptions, the plant at maturity produces seed in abundance, and so from a single grain a whole field may be covered.”
This is talking about the mustard seed, small in comparison to some seeds, though not the smallest. But what is impressive is its capability to propel the growth of far more than the growth exhibited by that of other lesser or greater seeds. A single mustard seed has a great germination capacity… and as we compare that seed, recognizing its potential to grow and spread not merely one small plant but incredible growth beyond itself… and as we compare that to our faith… as we have faith, and show that forth through our example and invite others to exhibit their own faith and grow, then the growth of faith that will be seen is unimaginable.
This week Elder Osborn serving in thailand said in an email to me ” It’s such an important thing to make sure that you not only do you do your work and see success, but that you help others to do better than you” and I thought of what I read this morning in personal about the mustard seed. I want to have the faith of the mustard seed… and propel the faith of others. That the growth that will follow my one small seed of faith will continue to grow far beyond my time here in albania. That I will not just have success, but that those after me will have even greater miracles. So I will work on my faith, growing it one drop of water and one ray of sunshine at a time, pushing to show my savior how grateful I am to be His servant in this part of His vineyard. And so that after my time here, that the growth will continue to spread, the miracles continue to be seen and worked for. I want to be that mustard seed, but man does it take work! But with His help, it is possible.
I love you all dearly. Keep working hard. Life is hard. But has so much potential, and is oh so sweet.
Love, Motra Kollmen
Pics: me and greis the girl who got baptized, some youngwomen in the ward, me making dough for the byrek, some goat heads that people eat here… no I haven’t had the pleasure yet… FUN!
IMG_1379 IMG_1394 IMG_1399 IMG_1415
Leave a Reply

