“Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.”

Good ole Ferris Bueler. That movie has the best quotes. And that quote above is so accurate for life these days.

This was an amazing week, in which I gained a much greater understanding and appreciation for Repentance. We have this amazing investigator and her son who are preparing to be baptized this upcoming Saturday, and are family to our recent convert xhoana. They are amazing, and this week we really had to work through some really big repentance things with Marsida the mama as she has lived a very rough life… but this week through talking about repentance pretty in depth and really inviting her to repent and really study it out, then to get on her knees and ask her Father in Heaven for forgiveness and relief from that which she had done… when we asked her to do that she changed. Drastically. In how she carries herself, how she prays, how she speaks and how she listens and looks even. Through the power of the Atonement she was able to overcome the chains of sorrow and guilt of some pretty heavy things… and I was just absolutely amazed and awed at the change that took place, within only a few short days.
Seeing Marsida become cleansed through the power of the atonement was a humbling experience, because as missionaries we really hardly do anything… we just teach people of the tools that their Father in Heaven has provided them with to overcome sin and guilt to become happy and return to Him. Marsida and Endrit will be getting baptized on Saturday, and I know that when she goes into those waters and is raised out of them again she will be completely and utterly free from her past, and then she will be able to walk forward into her her bright and happy future. Nothing is more satisfactory as a missionary than to see the people you teach change, and come unto Christ, nothing more beautiful than to know that us as missionaries are just the mouthpieces… but that Christ is who changes them and lifts them out of the darkness and sorrow.
I am grateful for the Atonement of Jesus Christ, and I know that it is something that I personally under-utilize in my own life. I sometimes like to think that I am really strong and independent, that I don’t need help from anyone. I don’t like showing weakness. But in reality I am so terribly weak. And I desperately need His divine help. And it is only through His atonement that I find true and lasting strength
The Gospel of Jesus Christ is good and it is true. And it is the way that I will live my life, because I have learned for myself that it is the road to everlasting happiness.
Love, Motra Kollmen
Fun things:
-I will be getting my last transfer call this upcoming saturday… where did the time go.
-It is boiling hot here in Elbasannnnnn
-Still waking up at 5ish to work out, today we hiked up to krast the mountain! Fun times.
PS.emails are and will get progressively smaller and smaller. #sorrynotsorry. LUVS
Leave a Reply

